Ohio primary early voting has begun

Damon Huff - [email protected]

Early voting for the 2018 primary elections has begun in Ohio.

Voting on early ballots began on April 10 and will extend to May 7.

According to the Ohio Secretary of State’s office, voters in the primary will have to decide which ballot they want to vote on – Republican, Democratic, Green or non-partisan. Under the non-partisan ballot, voters will only be able to vote on ballot measures.

Although mostly state and federal officials, there are a few local races in Adams and Brown counties.

In Adams County, Democrats Janet Everhard, Jill Schiller and William R. Smith are vying to face Brad Wenstrup in the general election for his seat in the U.S. House of Representatives.

Scott Township will be voting on a renewal of a seven cent general tax levy. West Union will also be voting on an 85 cent tax levy for the benefit of its fire department.

In the race for a new state representative to fill Terry Johnson’s upcoming vacancy, Democrats will choose between Adrienne D. Buckler and Joni L. Fearing while Republicans will choose between Justin David Pizzulli, Scottie Paul Powell, Brian Baldridge and Gina Collinsworth.

In Brown County, Democrats will be choosing between Jeff Richards and Brian Flick for a candidate to face Doug Green for State Representative.

Brown County voters will also vote on the continuation of a 1/4 percent sales tax for the benefit of 9-1-1 systems in Brown County.

Citizens of Aberdeen will vote on a proposed 50 cent tax levy for the benefit of the police department. The village of Sardinia, and townships of Clay, Eagle, Franklin and Washington will vote on a proposed 30 cent tax levy for the purpose of the Eastern Joint Fire and EMS District.

In both Adams and Brown counties, Democrats will be choosing a member of the State Central Committee for District 14 between Timothy S. Hogan Jr., William K. Ogg and Zachary Triplett. Republicans will also be choosing a representative for their state central committee between Greg Lang and Greg Simpson.

In the race for governor, Ohio Democrats will be choosing between Richard Cordray, Larry E. Ealy, Dennis John Kucinich, Bill O’Neil, Paul E. Ray and Joe Schiavoni. Republicans will choose between Mary Taylor and Mike DeWine. The Green Party candidate for governor is Constance Gadell-Newton, who is running on the Green ticket unopposed.

Ohio will also vote for a treasurer of the state, with Sandra O’Brien and Robert Sprague running in the Republican primary and Rob Richardson running on the Democratic primary.

In the race for U.S. Senator, Republicans will choose between Melissa Ackison, Don Elijah Eckhart, Mike Gibbons, Dan Kiley and Jim Renacci to face incumbent Democrat Sherrod Brown in the general election.

Democrat U.S. Representative hopefuls are Janet Everhard, Jill Schiller and William R. Smith. The winner of that race will face incumbent Brad Wenstrup in the general election.

If any individual wants to participate in early voting, there are several ways to do so. Contact your local board of elections for more information.

The Brown County Board of Elections can be reached at 937-378-6457 and the Adams County Board can be reached at 937-544-2633.


Damon Huff

[email protected]