Area athletes earn Triple Threat Award


The Kentucky High School Athletic Association has introduced a “Triple Threat Award” in an effort to de-emphasize sports specialization.

The award is given to student-athletes who participate in a KHSAA sport or sport-activity on the varsity level during each season of the academic year, and several athletes from the coverage area were included in the honor.

There were a total of 1,814 student-athletes across the state that received recognition, including 10 from Augusta, 12 from Bracken County, 16 from Fleming County, four from Lewis County, four from Mason County, three from Robertson County and 14 from St. Patrick.

Of the 280 member schools, 266 had at least one student-athlete recognized, led by Louisville Holy Cross, Oneida Baptist and Pikeville, who each had 22 Triple Threat Award winners. Villa Madonna had 21, while McCracken County and Scott had 19 each.

The junior class had the most honorees with 511, while the senior class had 465, the sophomore class had 458 and the freshman class had 318. There were 43 eighth graders and 19 seventh graders honored. There were 976 male award winners and 838 female award winners.

“The KHSAA staff and Board of Control are proud to issue these first-time awards and look forward to continuing the program in the future to emphasize the values of participation and the now-documented likely negative aspects of sports specialization,” said a release issued by the KHSAA on Monday.

Here’s a look at Triple Threat Award winners from The Ledger Independent’s seven KHSAA member schools:

Augusta: Nicole Arthur, Stephen Cordle, Seth Fouts, Kylee Harper, Madison Kelsch, Joseph Mains, Thomas Mains, David Reed, Adam Sallee, Conner Snapp.

Bracken County: Natalie Bell, Jaya Dawson, Trey Deaton, Tad Fisher, Tanner Fisher, Collin Jefferson, Nathan Jefferson, Mason McClanahan, Gracie Taylor, Logan Teegarden, Travis Tucker, Kaitlyn Wills.

Fleming County: Robert Applegate, Aaron Christiansen, Josh Crump, Sheraden Dales, Sydney Dales, Kaleb Flanery, Carsen Gulley, Jared Jackson, Samuel Johnson, Cody Kissell, Jonathan Maher, Blake McKibben, Hayden Ramey, Cole Saunders, Cooper Schwartz, Jayston Taylor.

Lewis County: Tay Offut, Cameron Ruckel, Emily Short, Wyatt Yates.

Mason County: Carson Brammer, Malkolm Devine, Rachel Payne, Haley White.

Robertson County: Kamryn Kendall, Abri Roberts, Carley Turner.

St. Patrick: Baylen Bauer, Jacob Blust, Libby Gallenstein, Tori Griffith, Mercedes Hedgecock, Katie Hord, Elizabeth Ignacio, Justina Klee, Alexis Luther, Caroline McKay, Elizabeth McKay, Anna Porter, Jake Swolsky, Owen Williams.
Multi-sport athletes get recognition from KHSAA